Publishing
Effect Collaborations

Effect collaborations

Guidance for effect owners and AR managers

Many effects are made as collaborations between multiple creators and brands, but the individual Facebook account or Page who publishes the effect is known as the effect owner. Effect owners can also add AR managers to help them manage specific effects.

Both effect owners and AR managers can invite the people who helped create an effect to be noted as collaborators. This ensures that everyone involved gets a chance to be credited for their work.

Collaborators will not be able to see insights. They will also not be able to edit or delete your effect, and the effect will not be saved on their Instagram profile.

Anyone added as an effect collaborator will have permission to show the effect in their public Spark AR portfolio by default. This permission can be changed at any time.

Note: Effect owners will receive a notification when an AR manager adds a new collaborator or changes an existing collaborators’ permissions. AR managers should consult effect owners before adding collaborators.

Why add collaborators?

Crediting collaborators is a great way to maintain a transparent relationship with the creators you work with, and give them credit for their artistic work. By doing so, you can help creators build their own professional career.

Adding collaborators in Spark AR Hub is only recommended as a way to credit those who worked on the effect. It is not for crediting sponsors, business partners or any other person or party.

Adding collaborators to an effect you published or manage

To invite someone to be a collaborator on your effect:

  1. From your Spark AR Hub homepage, click on the effect you would like to add collaborators to.
  2. Click the Visibility tab at the top of the effect’s dashboard.
  3. Click Add Collaborator.
  4. Search for their name — either the name from their Facebook account or their Facebook username — and click Confirm.
    • Only people who have logged into Spark AR Studio or Spark AR Hub at least once will appear in this search.

Collaboration invites

When you add a collaborator to an effect, a collaboration invite is sent automatically to the collaborator. That collaborator can then choose to decline or accept the invitation.

If you see the status Invite pending, the collaborator is yet to respond to the invite. You can see who has declined your collaboration invite by clicking Show Declined.

If your collaboration invite is declined more than twice by one person or brand, you will be prevented from adding them as a collaborator again. The maximum number of collaborators you can add to an effect is 10.

Editing or removing collaborators on an effect you published

The effect owner should be the one to determine whether a collaborator has permission to show the effect publicly in their Spark AR portfolio. If this permission is given, the effect owner’s name will show next to the effect in the collaborator’s portfolio. AR managers can also change portfolio permissions, but should always consult the effect owner before doing so.

To edit a collaborator’s portfolio permissions or remove a collaborator from your effect:

  1. From your Spark AR Hub homepage, click on the effect you would like to add collaborators to.
  2. Click the Visibility tab at the top of the effect’s dashboard.
  3. Click the pencil icon next to the name of the collaborator you’d like to edit.
  4. From here you can:
    • Choose whether the collaborator has permission to share the effect on their portfolio. This is set to Yes by default when you add a new collaborator.
    • Click Remove Collaborator to remove them from your effect.

Please keep in mind that your collaborators do not have to show the effect in their portfolio just because they have been given permission – as with all their effects, they can choose whether to make it visible in their portfolio or not.

Guidance for creators

As a creator, the best way to be credited for your work is to contact the person who manages the effect directly and ask to be added as a collaborator.

It may be helpful for you to copy these instructions and send them to the effect owner:

  1. From your Spark AR Hub homepage, click on the effect [Insert_Effect_Name].
  2. Click the Visibility tab at the top of the effect’s dashboard.
  3. Click Add Collaborator.
  4. Search for the name on my Facebook account: [Insert_Name].
  5. Click Confirm.

Please note, permission to show this effect in my Spark AR portfolio is granted by default, but can be changed at any time by clicking the edit icon.

Accepting collaboration invites for an effect you helped create

As a creator, the best way to be credited for your work is to contact the person who manages the effect directly and ask to be added as a collaborator.

Once they have added you as a collaborator, you’ll receive a notification in Facebook and Spark AR Hub. Tap the notification and you’ll be taken to your Collaborations tab. From here, you can view and then accept or decline the collaboration invitation.

To see your accepted collaborations and any outstanding collaboration invites at any time:

  1. From your Spark AR Hub homepage, click Effects in the sidebar.
  2. Click the Collaborations tab at the top of the page.

In the Collaborations table you can see the name of the effect and whether you have permission to show it publicly in your Spark AR portfolio. You can also click the dustbin icon to remove yourself as a collaborator.

If the effect owner or AR manager has given you permission to display the effect on your portfolio, you can choose to show or hide it just like any other effect. To show or hide effects, visit your portfolio and click Edit. The effect will appear on your portfolio alongside the owner’s name.

Remember, having permission to display the effect in your Spark AR portfolio does not give you permission to display the effect in any other portfolio or website. Speak to the effect owner if you’d like to display your work elsewhere.

Was this article helpful?